Friday, October 26, 2007

Sarkis Web Design? Are you Fucking kidding me?

I have been checking the great god Google SERPs lately watching the term "web design" and recently (the last few weeks) i have noticed that sarkis-webdesign.com has made it into the top 5 for "web design" and "web designers".

Lets take a look at this site shall we?

In the opening paragraph we have:

Freelance web designer Sarkis produces highest quality interactive web sites, logos, templates and flash animations.

So we can see right off that the guy doesn't speak native English because he doesn't understand tense. Not that the internet should be dominated by English, but this is just poorly translated English.

So how does this dude get to the top of "web design" in Google? This is one of the most competitive terms in SEO. So this dude is from Estonia we can see by looking at his whois. I like using Whois.sc cause it has a big form field.

You can see what we get from Whois.sc here.

Registrant:
Sarkis Arutjunjan
Tammsaare tee 74-7
Tallinn, Harjumaa 13413
Estonia

Damn this Sarkis guy must really be awesome. he's listed in DMOZ too! But wait its in armenian!

DMOZ: 1 listings
DMOZ Title: Սարգիս Հարությունյան
DMOZ Description: Վեբ կայքերի ստեղծման և ֆլեշ անիմացիայի մասնագետ։
DMOZ Category: Համակարգիչներ


Weird. lets go back to his home page and check this out again.

He is a SEO master, check out this paragraph: (the bold is mine)

I can attract the experienced website developers, freelance programmers, experienced ecommerce store builders, webmasters, 2D and 3D designers graphic artists experienced web designers, freelance website copywriters and qualified translators for the decision making process and production of client's various needs and wishes.

This guy is a silver tongued devil.

So it must be backlinks right? Lets see Google shows 1320, thats pretty impressive.

I see video tutes as #1 then #2 is Lyrics Expert.com well thats not a garbage spam site at all.
The 3rd is one of his sub domains with some russian government report?
Thats some sweet web design related info at docs.sarkis-webdesign.com/4/1.htm

Then we got some other sites
http://www.spraakmakertele.com/?i=advies_land

this one is sweet:
http://www.infokonsept.no/hotell.php
can't see the Sarkis link? its cause its in a hidden div which is strictly against Googles TOS

anyway the rest of the sites are filled with spam and garbage too and his site really has little to do with web design except for the fact that he is trying to sell it to americans. I guess most web designers are, but I still think its some SEO bullshit.

0 comments: